Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton

Representing the District of Columbia

Places in Washington DC

Norton, Scott, Van Hollen Call on Congress to Consider Recommendations of Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission’s Preliminary Report, Issued Yesterday

Aug 2, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) and Senators Tim Scott (R-SC) and Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) called on Congress to take up the recommendations made by the Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission in its preliminary report to Congress, which was submitted yesterday.

Norton, Scott, and Van Hollen are members of the Commission, which is chaired by Kenneth B. Morris, Jr., the great-great-great grandson of Frederick Douglass and Co-Founder and President of the Frederick Douglass Family Initiatives.

The Members issued the following statement:

“Frederick Douglass was one of the greatest Americans in our history and deserves a fitting recognition from Congress and the federal government to honor his life on the 200th anniversary of his birth.  The preliminary recommendations made by the Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission include new and creative ideas to ensure the American people learn about Frederick Douglass’ unique legacy.  Congress can start by taking up the Commission’s recommendation to award the Congressional Gold Medal to Frederick Douglass.  We look forward to continuing to find ways to honor Douglass throughout the rest of this year.”

“On behalf of the family of Frederick Douglass and the Bicentennial Commission, I am delighted that Members of Congress are committed to lifting up the life and legacy of my great-great-great grandfather during his Bicentennial year and beyond,” said Chairman Morris.  “I look forward to continued collaboration with my fellow commission members and Congress as we help to deepen and broaden efforts to recognize his continued relevance today.”

The Commission was created by the Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission Act (P.L. 115-77) to plan, develop, and carry out, as well as recommend to Congress, programs and activities to honor and celebrate the life of Frederick Douglass during the bicentennial anniversary of his birth in 2018.  The House version was introduced by Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton and Congressman Andy Harris and the Senate version was introduced by Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin.  The Commission’s preliminary report was due by August 1, 2018.  The final report is due by June 1, 2019.

The members of the Commission, as of August 1, 2018, are:

Senator Tim Scott
Senator Chris Van Hollen
Representative Andy Harris, M.D.
Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton
Dr. David Anderson
Naomi C. Earp, Esq.
Kay Coles James
Alveda C. King
Kenneth B. Morris, Jr. (Chair)
Dean Nelson
Star Parker
Sylvia L. Quinton
Dr. C. James Trotman